Field confirmed for ZEN-NOH World Women's Curling Championship 2015

The ZEN-NOH World Women's Curling Championship 2015 teams Photo: WCF

The field is now set for the ZEN-NOH World Women's Curling Championship 2015 following the conclusion of several national qualification events around the world.

Heading to Sapporo between 14 and 22 March will be reigning Olympic champions - Jennifer Jones and her team from Canada.

She will be looking to win Canada’s first World Women’s Curling Championship title since she skipped a slightly different line-up to the gold medals seven years ago in Vernon, Canada in 2008.

Defending world and reigning European champions Switzerland will be represented by a team skipped by Alina Paetz this year.

The Swiss skip has won the World Women’s Championship before, as an alternate in Mirjam Ott’s team back in Lethbridge, Canada in 2012. She will be looking to use that experience to create some history of her own this year.

Having won gold the last time she appeared at a World Women’s Championship back in Riga, Latvia in 2013, Eve Muirhead returns as skip with her team from Scotland as they look to finish amongst the medals once again.

2014 Pacific-Asia champions, China, will be skipped by Sijia Liu. She will be looking to improve on her team's seventh place finish at last year's World Championship in Saint John, Canada.

Denmark skip Lene Nielsen will be making her sixth World Women's Championship appearance this year, while Finland women return to the World Women’s Championship after their impressive run of form at Le Gruyere European Curling Championships 2014 back in November where they finished in sixth position.

German skip Daniela Driendl will skip Germany at a World Championship for the first time, although she did play as third in the World Women’s Curling Championship 2000 in Braehead, Scotland in a team skipped by Petra Tschetsch which finished sixth.

Norway skip Kristin Moen Skaslien will be playing in her fifth World Women’s Championship but her first as skip.

Sapporo's hometown team, skipped by Ayumi Ogasawara, will represent Japan this year. This will be Ogasawara’s fourth World Women’s Championship appearance and she will be looking to better her record of a seventh place finish which she achieved in Lausanne, Switzerland back in 2001.

Le Gruyere European Curling Championship 2014 silver medallists, Russia, are skipped by Anna Sidorova who leads a team that recently won the gold medals at the Winter Universiade 2015 in Granada, Spain in February.

Sweden will once again be skipped by Margaretha Sigfridsson, a four-time World Women’s Championship finalist.

After winning the Le Gruyere European Curling Championships in 2013, Sigfridsson will be looking to lead her new look team to the first World Championship title for Sweden women since Anette Norberg’s team won in Esbjerg, Denmark in 2011.

Meanwhile, the USA will be skipped by Aileen Sormunen for the first time at this level, although she did skip her country to a fourth place finish at the 2004 World Junior Curling Championships in Trois Rivières Canada.

To see the full team line-ups, visit:

Share this page

More Information

Warning: mysql_fetch_array() expects parameter 1 to be resource, boolean given in /home/cevents/public_html/events/_includes/functions.php on line 923
Official Title Sponsor
Official Presenting Sponsor
Official Main Sponsors
Official Timekeeper
Official Event Partners
Official WCF Suppliers